The school was opened by the Maryborough Mayer on the 26th of February 1912. Mr W.J Bateman was the new principal, he was transfered from the Ballarat agricultural school. There were three other staff and assistance from five other teachers from the school of mines. The first female teacher was Margaret Burns and later on many female teachers were employed.
Jean Robinson, a previous student recalls memories from when she went to school. She states that they wore blue frocks, red ties and navy blue serge frocks in the winter. The boys were not allowed to talk to the boys at school. Jean never attended the Palemeston street school.
An interesting teachers experience was when Mr had an accident in the classroom one Sunday afternoon. He accidentally split chemicals on his body, he was admitted to hospital and had severe burns on his body. This was printed in the Argus newspaper which is a Melbourne newspaper, therefore the Maryborough community would have known about the incident.
The Maryborough High school made the community proud and still does to this day. Throughout the years, the Technical College closed down and became the years 9-12 campus for Maryborough high school students. The Palmeston street building became the years 7 and 8 campus. The school closed in 2007 and a new High school was built, which is now the Maryborough Education centre.